Key Stage 1


Compulsory national curriculum subjects at Key Stage 1 are listed below.  You can click on each subject in the Key stage 1 tabs across the top of this page for a more in-depth description of each subject.

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design and Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Computing

Schools must provide religious education (RE) but parents can ask for their children to be taken out of the whole lesson or part of it.

Schools often also teach:

  • personal, social and health education (PSHE)
  • citizenship

Tests and assessments

Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child doesn’t do well enough in the check they’ll have to do it again in Year 2.

Key stage 1

Key stage 1 assessments are based upon the teachers' assessment of your child's abilities.  Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work (including spoken work and homework) to work out what level your child is at in each area. However there are a number of statutory tests which your child will complete and these cover the areas:

  • Reading
  • Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling
  • Maths

The tests will be completed in May.