School Logo

Key Stage 1

In our school, we use key questions to lead our learning. Please find our Curriculum overviews below to show you how we cover the Key Stage 1 curriculum.

Compulsory national curriculum subjects at Key Stage 1 are listed below.  You can click on each subject for a more in-depth description.

Schools must provide religious education (RE), but parents can ask for their children to be taken out of the whole lesson or part of it.


At St James' C of E Infant and Nursery School we also teach:


  • personal, social and health education (PSHE)
  • citizenship 
  • develop an understanding of British Values
  • Kidsafe These are approached with our Christian Values at the centre of everything we do. Across the year, our children will learn about 6 different Christian Values in Collective Worship, RE and cross-curricular links. The children will learn about key bible teachings, complete craft activities around our chosen Bible story which demonstrates the value well. The values we look at in detail are Friendship, Kindness, Forgiveness, Justice, Respect, Trust, Courage, Thankfulness, Hope, Perseverance, Humility and Peace.


You can see how our curriculum is mapped out below for Year 1 and 2. This also shows how it is shared across both cycles to ensure we have a consistent, broad and balanced coverage of the curriculum using interesting topics suitable for our children. Our topic titles are always a question to develop our children's enquiry skills.

Tests and Assessments


Year 1 Phonics Screening Check


The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child doesn’t do well enough in the check they’ll have to do it again in Year 2.


Key Stage 1


Key stage 1 assessments are based upon the teachers' assessment of your child's abilities.  Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work (including spoken work and homework) to work out what level your child is at in each area. However there are a number of statutory tests which your child will complete and these cover the areas:


  • Reading
  • Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling
  • Maths


The tests will be completed in May.